#Ge·no·zid·blogger e.V.
18 Sep 2019

Text: Corinna/ Translation: Miriam & Daniel

# Burundi: A history of violence between Hutu and Tutsi

The Hutu and Tutsi population in Burundi have a collective bloody history which can be briefly summarised as follows: in 1965, the Hutu kill the Tutsi; in 1966 and 1969, the Tutsi kill the Hutu; additionally, the Tutsi kill each other between 1966 and 1972; in 1972, the Hutu kill the Tutsi again, a little while later it goes the other way around; in 1988, the Tutsi kill the Hutu again; and in 1993, both groups are killing each other. In this turbulent history, especially the 1972 massacre that cost the lives of between 150,000 to 300,000 people sticks out.

BurundiPhoto: Christine Vaufrey/www.flickr.com/Creative Commons

# Context

Burundi is a fairly small, poor and overpopulated state in Central Africa. The population is made up of approximately 84% Hutu, 15% Tutsi and 1% Twa. The Hutu and Tutsi tribes have the same ethnicity, speak the same language and share their culture, as well as their religion. Yet there is tension between the two tribes that can be traced back to the colonial rule of the German Empire (1896-1916) and Belgium (1916-1962).[1]

The Germans began classifying the inhabitants of their colonies. All Africans that looked ‘European’ to them, were viewed as descendants of the Biblical figure Ham (son of Noah) and were therefore considered more intelligent and skilful. After the First World War, Belgium took over as the colonial ruler. They decided that the Tutsi were the ‘European race’ and gave them official posts and positions, while prohibiting the Hutu from receiving higher education. After that, the Hutu and Tutsi were issued passports stating which one of the two groups they belonged to. One of the classifying factors was the size of their nose: the Tutsis’ noses were 55.8 mm long and 38.7 mm wide, whereas the Hutus’ noses were only 52.4 mm long but 43.2 mm wide. Consequently, 84% of the population were classified as Hutu, 15% as Tutsi and 1% Twa.[2]

BurundiPhoto: Christine Vaufrey/www.flickr.com/Creative Commons

# Hutu rebellion 1965

On the 19th October 1965, a rebellion of the Hutu police and army started the aim of which was to overthrow the Tutsi regime. The insurgents attacked the royal palace and started a wave of ethnic violence. Hutu groups began to kill innocent Tutsi civilians, King Mwambutsa fled to Switzerland and hundreds of people were killed. By way of an answer, the Tutsi government arrested 38 Hutu officials and 10 politicians who were all shot. 86 more death sentences against Hutu rebels were imposed by various military courts.[3]

# Mass violence of 1966 and 1969

In 1966, Burundi became independent and brought an end to their constitutional monarchy. The king’s successor, Ntare V., fled to Europe and the Tutsi gained full control over Burundi’s government and the army; the Hutus were not allowed any access to civil services.

When rumours about a new Hutu rebellion started in September 1969, the Tutsi government executed numerous well-known Hutus to ensure that there wouldn’t be a charismatic leader for any potential rebellion. Simultaneously, an inter-ethnic conflict between the Banyaruguru-Tutsi and the Hima-Tutsi which nearly left the country in anarchy had been smouldering since 1966.[4]

# 1972 – Two Genocides

In 1972, there was an outbreak of months of brutal and excessive mass killings. It isn’t easy to name the perpetrators, as there were actually two genocides happening.

The oppression and discrimination of the Hutu lead to another riot on the 29th April 1972. The rioters gained control over the West Burundian city of Rumonge and ordered the Hutu of the region to kill every Tutsi. Those who refused, would be murdered themselves. Approximately 1,000 Tutsi civilians, officials and soldiers were killed during the following days. Within a very short time, the rebels gained control over a strip of land from Rumonge to Nyanza Lac along Lake Tanganyika which they declared to be the Independent Republic of Martyazo.[5]

RuandaPhoto: configmanager/www.flickr.com/Creative Commons

After only a few days, the government managed to stop the Hutu rebellion. Tutsi president Michel Micombero ordered for king Ntare V., who had just returned from his exile, to be murdered, and the Burundian Foreign Secretary Artémon Simbabaniy granted the extremist youth movement ‘Jeunesses Révolutionnaieres Rwagasore’ (JRR) permission to kill. On the same day, all Hutu members of the JRR were brutally killed and death lists were issued. All police and army commanders were ordered to kill their Hutu inferiors. More than 300 police officers and 750 soldiers were killed that day. Next, they targeted priests, state officials, teachers, professors and students. Even primary school pupils were not spared. Thousands of Hutu were killed.[6]

’12 Hutu priests are said to have been killed, and thousands of Protestant pastors, school directors and teacher.’ [7]

Tutsi students made lists of their Hutu classmates and abused them. Quite often, the victims were beaten to death by their former friends. Members of the army or the JRR came to the classrooms to collect all Hutu pupils – who then never returned. Those who defended themselves or refused to take part in the violence were murdered too.[8]

‘The Tutsi girls were given bamboos. They were made to kill by pushing the bamboo from below [from the vagina] to the mouth. It is a thing against the law of God.’ [9]

All well-educated Hutu were to be systematically eradicated to ensure the power of the Tutsi. It seemed the only logical consequence to ensure their own survival. And their plan worked. At the end of August, between 150.000 to 300,000 had been killed and countless people had been forced to flee the country. All well-educated Hutu of Burundi were dead, ensuring peace for the country for about 16 years.[10] All official government, administration, army and economy posts were given to Tutsi.[11]

‘If you are a student, that‘s a reason for killing you; if you‘re rich, that‘s a reason; if you are a man who dares to say a valid word to the population, that‘s a reason for killing you. In short, it is a racial hate.’ [12]

To this day, the country has not made an attempt to process the atrocities that happened in 1972. It has rather been erased from Burundi’s collective memory.[13]

BurundiPhoto: Dave Proffer/www.flickr.com/Creative Commons

# International Community

The international community showed nothing but political disinterest for Burundi’s case. Not even the media were interested to raise awareness of the genocide. In their eyes, the situation was the consequence of the government’s attempt to restore law and order after ending a bloody rebellion. They seem to have ignored the fact that the response to the rebellion was far too brutal and excessive, even though the USA clearly knew about the situation in Burundi.[14]

‘No respite, no letup. What apparently is genocide continues. Arrests going on around the clock […] The liquidation of Hutu goes on apace. Catholic missionaries are increasingly disgusted. Stories which can only be called sickening reach us every day; many Hutu are being buried while still alive […]. The most normal means of execution have been sledgehammers. […] The death toll is in the thousands.’ [15]

– Michael Hoyt, former deputy ambassador of the United States of America in Burundi

# New outbreaks of violence 1989 & 1993

In 1988, new outbreaks of violence happened between the groups in the regions of Ntega and Marangara, where rumours of the Tutsi planning a new attack on the Hutu were widely spread. To pre-empt their ostensible plan, Hutu rebels killed hundreds of Tutsi civilians. Consequently, the military got involved and carried out a Hutu bloodbath. An estimated 20,000 to 30,000 were killed and over 40,000 fled the country. This time, however, the international community were outraged and reacted with political pressure and sanctions.

The first democratic elections were held in the course of the 1993 reforms. The Hutu party Hutu Front des Démocrats du Burundi won the election and there was a Hutu president for the first time. Consequently, the Tutsi felt like they were losing control over their livelihood. Tutsi extremists thought that the Hutu rule posed a risk and killed Hutu president Melchior Ndadaye on the 21st October 1993.

The Hutus’ violent response followed promptly and the incident turned into a orgy of violence. Approximately 25,000 Tutsi were killed by Hutu militants as well as by friends and neighbours. The army’s reaction was just as violent.[16] The following civil war lasted until 2005 and cost up to 300,000 lives.

Sources:

# Lemarchand, R. (2009) „The Burundi Genocide“ in Century of Genocide, 3. Edition, pp. 406 – 427. Taylor and Francis, Inc. Available at: https://tandfbis.s3.amazonaws.com/rt-media/pdf/9780415871921/chapter10_theburundi_genocide.pdf (last accessed 18.09.19)

# Lemarchand, R. (2008) „The Burundi Killings of 1972“ in Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence, pp. 1 – 11. Available at: http://migs.concordia.ca/documents/The-Burundi-Killings-of-1972Lemarchand.pdf  (last accessed 18.09.19)

# Neuffer, E. (2003) The Key to my neighbour’s house – Seeking justice in Bosnia and Rwanda. London: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc.

# www.combatgenocide.org „Burundi 1972“. Available at: http://combatgenocide.org/?page_id=893 (last accessed 18.09.19)

1 Lemarchand, R. (2008) p. 2
2 Neuffer, E. (2003) p. 88-89
3 Lemarchand, R. (2008) p. 3
4 Lemarchand, R. (2008) S. 3
5 www.genocidewatch.org
6 Genocidewatch.org
7 Lemarchand, R. (2009) p. 413
8 Lemarchand, R. (2009) p. 413
9 Lemarchand, R. (2009) p. 422
10 Lemarchand, R. (2009) p. 414
11 Lemarchand, R. (2009) p. 407
12 Lemarchand, R. (2009) p. 423
13 Lemarchand, R. (2009) p. 406
14 Lemarchand, R. (2009) p. 415
15 Lemarchand, R. (2008) p. 7
16 Lemarchand, R. (2009) pp. 417-418

Comments are closed.

FacebooktwitterInstagram

#Ge·no·zid·blogger e.V.
16 Nov 2015

#Blutige Geschichte

Menschenrechtler und Politiker sind in Sorge um Burundi. In dem kleinen zentralafrikanischen Land ist die Situation sehr angespannt. Seit den Wahlen im April 2015 sind bereits über 240 Menschen bei Protesten gestorben und auch der Hohe Kommissar der Vereinten Nationen für Menschenrechte Zeid Ra‘ad Al Hussein spricht von einer großen Menschenrechtskrise in Burundi. Erste Experten fragen sich, ob nicht ein erneuter Völkermord bevorsteht.

BurundiFoto: Christine Vaufrey/www.flickr.com/Creative Commons

Diese Angst ist nicht ganz unbegründet, liest sich die blutige Geschichte Burundis in kurz doch etwa so: 1965 töten die Hutu die Tutsi, 1966 und 1969 töten die Tutsi die Hutu, zudem töten sich die Tutsi zwischen 1966 und 1972 gegenseitig, 1972 töten die Hutu wieder die Tutsi und etwas später die Tutsi die Hutu, 1988 töten die Tutsi erneut die Hutu und 1993 töten sich die beiden Gruppen gegenseitig. In dieser turbulenten Geschichte sticht vor allem das Massaker von 1972 mit zirka 150.000 bis 300.000 Toten hervor.

#Kontext

Burundi liegt in Zentralafrika, ist ziemlich klein, überbevölkert und arm. Die Bevölkerung setzt sich zu ca. 84 % Hutu, 15 % Tutsi und 1% Twa zusammen. Die Stämme der Hutu und Tutsi entstammen derselben Ethnie, sprechen dieselbe Sprache und teilen sich eine Kultur und Religion. Und doch gibt es Spannungen zwischen den zwei Gruppen, was sich unter anderem auf die Kolonialherrschaft des Deutschen Reichs (1896 – 1916) und Belgiens (1916 – 1962) zurückführen lässt.1

Die Deutschen begannen, die Bewohner ihrer Kolonien zu klassifizieren. Alle Afrikaner, die „europäisch“ aussahen, wurden als Nachkommen des biblischen Ham (Sohn Noahs) und somit als schlauer und geschickter angesehen. Nach dem Ende des 1. Weltkriegs übernahm Belgien die Kolonialherrschaft über Burundi von Deutschland. Die neuen Kolonialherren sahen in den Tutsi die „europäische Rasse“ und setzten sie in offizielle Ämter und Posten ein, während sie den Hutu die höhere Schulbildung verboten. Im nächsten Schritt wurden Pässe eingeführt, welche die Bewohner offiziell in Hutu und Tutsi kategorisierten. Zur Klassifizierung war unter anderem die Nasengröße ausschlaggebend: so hatten Tutsi angeblich eine 55,8 mm lange und 38,7 mm breite Nase, die der Hutu hingegen war nur 52,4 mm lang, dafür aber 43,2 mm breit. Im Ergebnis wurden 84% der Bevölkerung als Hutu klassifiziert, 15% als Tutsi und 1% als Twa.2

BurundiFoto: Christine Vaufrey/www.flickr.com/Creative Commons

#Hutu-Aufstand von 1965

Am 19.10.1965 kam es zu einem Hutu-Aufstand der Gendarmerie und Armee, um das Tutsi-Regime zu Fall zu bringen. Die Aufständischen stürmten den königlichen Palast und lösten damit eine Welle ethnischer Gewalt aus. Hutu-Banden begannen, unschuldige Tutsi-Zivilisten zu töten. König Mwambutsa floh in die Schweiz; hunderte Menschen wurden getötet. Als Antwort darauf verhaftete die Tutsi-Regierung 38 Hutu-Offiziere und 10 Politiker, die erschossen wurden. 86 weitere Todesurteile verhängten diverse Ad-hoc-Militärgerichte gegen Hutu-Rebellen.3

#Massengewalt von 1966 & 1969

1966 erlangte Burundi die Unabhängigkeit und beendete zugleich die konstitutionelle Monarchie. Der Nachfolgekönig Ntare V. floh nach Europa, und die Tutsi übernahmen die volle Kontrolle über die Regierung und Armee; den Hutu wurde der Zugang zum Staatsdienst verwehrt.

Als im September 1969 Gerüchte über einen erneuten Hutu-Aufstand aufkamen, exekutierte die Tutsi-Regierung mehrere Hutu-Persönlichkeiten, sodass es keine Anführer mehr für einen möglichen Aufstand gab. Gleichzeitig schwelte aber auch seit 1966 ein inter-ethnischer Konflikt zwischen den Banyaruguru-Tutsi und den Hima-Tutsi, welcher das Land fast in der Anarchie versinken ließ.4

#1972 – Zwei Völkermorde?

1972 kam es zum Ausbruch monatelanger, brutaler und exzessiver Massenmorde. Dabei lassen sich die Täter nicht ganz einfach benennen, gab es doch eigentlich zwei Völkermorde.

Am 29.04.1972 kam es auf Grund der Unterdrückung und Diskriminierung der Hutu zu einem erneuten Aufstand. Die Rebellen erlangten die Kontrolle über die Stadt Rumonge in Westburundi und befahlen den Hutu in der Region, alle Tutsi umzubringen; wer sich weigerte, wurde selbst getötet. Zirka 1.000 Tutsi-Zivilisten, Beamte und Soldaten wurden in den folgenden Tagen umgebracht. Die Rebellen kontrollierten in sehr kurzer Zeit einen ca. 70 km langen Streifen entlang des Tanganjika-See von Rumonge bis Nyanza Lac, welchen sie zur Unabhängigen Republik Martyazo ausriefen.5

BurundiFoto: Cliff/www.flickr.com/Creative Commons

Nach nur ein paar Tagen gelang es der Regierungsarmee, den Hutu-Aufstand niederzuschlagen. Der Tutsi-Präsident Michel Micombero ordnete die Ermordung des aus dem Exil zurückgekehrten König Ntare V. an, und der burundische Außenminister Artémon Simbabaniy erteilte am 12.05.1972 der extremistischen Jugendbewegung „Jeunesses Révolutionnaieres Rwagasore“ (JRR) die Erlaubnis zum Töten. Noch am selben Tag wurden alle Hutu-Mitglieder der JRR abgeschlachtet und Todeslisten erstellt. Alle Kommandeure der Polizei und Armee wurden angehalten, ihre Unterstellten mit Hutu-Abstammung zu töten. Über 300 Polizisten und 750 Soldaten wurden an diesem Tag umgebracht. Die nächsten Ziele waren alle Priester, Staatsbeamten, Lehrer, Professoren, Studenten und Schüler. Selbst Grundschüler wurden nicht verschont. Tausende Hutu wurden getötet.6

„Es heißt, dass 12 Hutu-Priester umgebracht wurden und tausende protestantische Pastoren, Schuldirektoren und Lehrer.“7

Tutsi-Schüler erstellten Listen mit den Namen ihrer Klassenkameraden und misshandelten sie. Nicht selten wurden die Opfer von ihren eigenen Freunden zu Tode geprügelt. Mitglieder der Armee und JRR erschienen in den Klassenräumen und nahmen alle Hutu-Schüler mit – sie wurden nie wiedergesehen. Jeder Tutsi, der sich wehrte oder weigerte, an der Gewalt teilzunehmen, wurde selbst umgebracht.8

„Den Tutsi-Mädchen wurden Bambushölzer gegeben. Sie sollten mit diesen töten, indem sie diese Bambushölzer von unten (Vagina) bis zum Mund rammten. Es ist ein Verbrechen gegen das Gesetz Gottes.“9

Alle gebildeten Hutu sollten systematisch ausgerottet werden, um die Macht der Tutsi zu sichern. Für sie war es die einzig logische Konsequenz, um ihr eigenes Überleben zu sichern. Und der Plan ging auf. Ende August 1972 gab es zwischen 150.000 und 300.000 Tote und unzählige Flüchtlinge. Alle gebildeten Hutu in Burundi waren tot, was für etwa 16 Jahre den Frieden sicherte.10 Alle Posten in der Regierung, Verwaltung, Armee und Wirtschaft wurden mit Tutsi besetzt.11

„Wenn du ein Student bist, ist das ein Grund, dich umzubringen; wenn du reich bist, ist das ein Grund; wenn du ein Mann bist, der sich traut ein wahres Wort an die Gemeinschaft zu richten, ist das ein Grund, dich umzubringen. Kurz gesagt, es ist Rassenhass.“12

Bis heute hat das Land keine Versuche unternommen, die Geschehnisse von 1972 aufzuarbeiten. Eher wurde es aus dem kollektiven Gedächtnis Burundis gestrichen.13

RuandaFoto: configmanager/www.flickr.com/Creative Commons

#Internationale Gemeinschaft

Die internationale Gemeinschaft zeigte im Fall Burundis nichts Anderes als politisches Desinteresse. Nicht einmal die Medien interessierten sich groß für den Völkermord. In ihren Augen versuchte die Regierung lediglich, einen blutigen Aufstand niederzuschlagen, um wieder Recht und Ordnung herzustellen. Dass die Antwort auf den Aufstand viel zu brutal und exzessiv war, schienen sie hierbei zu ignorieren, obwohl z.B. die USA Kenntnisse über die Lage im Land hatten.14

„Was auf jeden Fall ein Völkermord ist, dauert fort. Rund um die Uhr werden Menschen verhaftet, und die Liquidierung der Hutu schreitet fort. Katholische Priester sind immer mehr angeekelt. Geschichten, die einen krank machen, erreichen uns jeden Tag; viele Hutu werden lebend begraben (…) Die Hauptwaffe für Exekutionen ist der Vorschlaghammer (…) Es gibt tausende Tote (…).“15 – Michael Hoyt, damaliger Stellvertretender Botschafter der US-Botschaft in Burundi

#Erneute Gewaltausbrüche 1988 & 1993

1988 kam es zu erneuten Gewaltausbrüchen zwischen den Ethnien in den Regionen Ntega und Marangara. Es wurden Gerüchte gestreut, dass die Tutsi einen erneuten Angriff auf die Hutu planen würden. Um diesem Plan zuvorzukommen, töteten Hutu-Rebellen hunderte Tutsi-Zivilisten. Daraufhin rückte das Militär aus und veranstaltete ein Blutbad unter der Hutu-Bevölkerung. Es gab geschätzte 20.000 bis 30.000 Tote und über 40.000 Flüchtlinge. Diesmal zeigte sich die internationale Gemeinschaft geschockt und reagierte mit politischem Druck und Sanktionen.

BurundiFoto: Dave Proffer/www.flickr.com/Creative Commons

1993 fanden im Zuge der Reformen erstmals demokratische Wahlen statt. Die Hutu-Partei Hutu Front des Démocrates du Burundi gewann die Wahl, und ein Hutu wurde erstmals Präsident von Burundi. Die Tutsi wurden infolgedessen „entthront“ und hatten nun Angst um ihre Existenzgrundlage. Tutsi-Extremisten sahen in der Hutu-Herrschaft eine Gefahr und töteten am 21.10.1993 den Hutu-Präsidenten Melchior Ndadaye.

Die blutige Antwort der Hutu ließ nicht lange auf sich warten, und der ganze Vorfall entwickelte sich zu einer regelrechten Orgie der Gewalt. Etwa 25.000 Tutsi wurden von Hutu-Milizen, aber auch von Nachbarn und Freunden abgeschlachtet. Die Armee reagierte daraufhin wenig zimperlich.16 Der sich daraus entwickelnde Bürgerkrieg dauerte bis August 2005 an und forderte bis zu 300.000 Leben.

Quellen:

Lemarchand, R. (2009) „The Burundi Genocide“ in Century of Genocide, 3. Ausgabe, S. 406 – 427. Taylor and Francis, Inc. Abrufbar unter: https://tandfbis.s3.amazonaws.com/rt-media/pdf/9780415871921/chapter10_theburundi_genocide.pdf (Stand 02.11.15)

Lemarchand, R. (2008) „The Burundi Killings of 1972“ in Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence, S. 1 – 11. Abrufbar unter: http://www.massviolence.org/the-burundi-killings-of-1972 (Stand 02.11.15)

Neuffer, E. (2003) The Key to my neighbour’s house – Seeking justice in Bosnia and Rwanda. London: Bloomsbury

Publishing Plc.

www.combatgenocide.org „Burundi 1972“. Abrufbar unter: http://combatgenocide.org/?page_id=893 (Stand 02.11.15)

1Lemarchand, R. (2008) S. 2
2Neuffer, E. (2003) S. 88 – 89
3Lemarchand, R. (2008) S. 3
4Lemarchand, R. (2008) S. 3
5www.genocidewatch.org
6Genocidewatch.org
7Lemarchand, R. (2009) S. 413
8Lemarchand, R. (2009) S. 413
9Lemarchand, R. (2009) S. 422
10Lemarchand, R. (2009) S. 414
11Lemarchand, R. (2009) S. 407
12Lemarchand, R. (2009) S. 423
13Lemarchand, R. (2009) S. 406
14Lemarchand, R. (2009) S. 415
15Lemarchand, R. (2008) S. 7
16Lemarchand, R. (2009) S. 417 / 418

Kommentare sind geschlossen.

FacebooktwitterInstagram